Mynydd Y Garth

 

Garth Mountain O/S explorer map 151 map OS grid ST 103835

Need to buy a new pair of walking boots and have decided to go back to wearing leather walking boots. My nearest walking shop is Mountain Wear house Morganstown. I thought if I leave early I can walk up Garth. Parked the car outside Taffs Well pub CF15 7PR, Ffynnon Taf. Weather was good and dry, sun breathed in between clouds and a nice breeze, good walking weather. Old boots on and I set off, walked over Afon Taf.

Up the steep winding path that leads to Gwaelod Y Garth. Garth Mountain is between Pentrych and Gwaelod Y Garth. Both villages are pretty. Scent of dog rose was everywhere as I walked in the middle of the road, yes middle of the road. There are no pavements in this village and cars have taken over spaces where humans are supposed to walk. Past the Gwealod Y Garth pub up a steep hill, past the brewery with a fab view. On to the proper path. I knew from the cobwebs I had walked into I was the first that morning to walk the path. The roar of A470 below and where I found fox gloves entwined in wild honeysuckle.

 

The walk I am walking is a circular and is very steep for about 2 miles but the views are a good distraction. At Llan farm where I leave the noise of the A470 behind. I stop and talk with the owner who has stables. My friend Jay Kynch has her horse here but I am to early for Jay. We carrying on with our chat, while above us swallows swirl and sway in the wind. We talk about owls and bats both of us see these creatures often from where we live. Her on top Garth Mountain me on top of Bargoed mountain. I take my leave and walk through a well used field with rusty farm machinery. Over a stile and walk diagonally west, past Welsh black cows and a pair of gold finches with their bands of bright colours. Through a sunken lane where I stop and looked behind and see Pontypridd and the Rhondda Valley. Onto open moorland the breeze has changed to  a strong wind but this is good because it keeps me cool.

 

I reach the trig point.

On top of Garth where you are greeted on a clear day like today with wonderful panoramic views.

 

Whole of Cardiff, Penarth head, Breen down Western, Flat and Steep Holm. M4 snakes its way. Vale of Glamorgan, Black Mountains, Brecon Beacons, Caerphilly Mountain range and Graig Yr Alt. Mor Hafon shone, twinkled and glinted. I sat next to the trig point and eat my apple. Could see a family out walking, couples courting and dog walker, I like to see this. On my way back I walked down the steep path from Garth. This path you can see when you drive down Nantgarw hill.

 

 

  

Leave the soft turf of Garth and reach a rocky path I must keep mind to feet.  On to a dappled shaded path which leads to where I began the proper walk to Garth.

 

As I reach the Gwaelod Y Garth pub I see Juventus supporters. I say good morning and wish their team a good game but I do not confess that I want Real Madrid to win. They thank me in Italian.

 

2 thoughts on “Mynydd Y Garth

Leave a Reply

