Walking part of the Sirhowy Valley

006.jpg I found a wonderful map of the whole of Sirhowy Valley which is 26 miles long. The walk starts at Aneurin Bevan Memorial Stones and finishes at Tredegar House. I have walked the whole of the Rhymney Valley Ridgeway 4 times. I have walked small parts of  Sirhowy Valley. I am walking Hadrian’s Wall alone in September and I need to train on long walks where I do not have to drive a car too.

I walked a small circular by St Davids wood, Blackwood.

The sun was hidden behind a curtain of mist, weather mild. The river Sirhowy and beautiful birds song kept me company. The path was good. Mystical, magical wood such a delight to stop breathe in deep and become beautiful.

009

A wooden sculpture I could not read the write-up on this unusual sculpture but it was really impressive.

008

Wonderful winter colours so kind to the eye.

013

I hear the raw of the by – pass and I spy the imposing, white grey Chartist Bridge in the distance. The bare black branched trees remind of veins.

011 I made my way back to materialism and consumerism with a heavy heart and damp waterproofs.

I will be walking the whole of Sirhowy Valley Saturday 18th March. 

007

2 thoughts on “Walking part of the Sirhowy Valley

Leave a Reply

