For lovers every where.

I wrote Damsons, autumn 2006 while picking Damsons in a friends garden. The poem is in my first collection of poetry called “Butterfly Kisses and a Bee Sting Mind”

ISBN- 13 978-1495493096

ISBN -101495493091 BBTS Est 2012

Damsons 

Come pick damsons with me

you will be my Derby I will be your Joan

we can take our time and stroll.

The tree is heavily laden

for greedy hands to grab and pull.

We could have a picnic

hand to hand

fit like a glove.

My most divine

my bread and wine

dine me for all times.

Plump, purple, black and sweet

waiting for us to pick and eat.

We can gather time together

I will be your other half

you my bloke.

Hands sticky the corner of our mouths

lipstick red our bellies fed.

the fruity aroma inviting you in.

Hug hold you are my very own

Valentine will you always be mine.

After we could make jam or gin

keep for us to share

lets grow old together

you my man

I will be your wife

for life.

What a day it would be to pick damsons with me.

Julie Ann Pritchard 2006

photo5792

Leave a Reply

