Monknash Vale of Glamorgan

  Map OS Explorer 151 Cardiff to Bridgend

Photo5020

Dear Reader,

I miss the sea, the sound and the smell so I decided to drive to Monknash to seek the real sea not the Severn estuary. Left the house 7 30am, weather was glorious and roads were empty.

I arrived at Monknash to be greeted by amazing clear views, sky larks, chaffinch’s and sea gulls.

Photo5018

The Monknash Coast is a site of Special Scientific Interest for its sequence of limestone deposits and its eroding hard coastline and cliffs. They have been shaped over a thousands of years  to form the four and a half kilometre stretch of coastline between Cwm Nash and St Donat’s Point which allows an understanding of how the present coastline has evolved.

Photo5016

I was last at Nash Point Lighthouse 3 years ago. I heard wonderful story-teller Amanda Rackstraw perform her story it was a great evening. Nash Point lighthouse was built in 1832 as a response to the wreck of the “Frolic” with a loss of  40 lives. The Western light is now decommissioned but the Eastern one is still working albeit unmanned.

 

 

Photo5022

The path was very dry  and uneven had to keep mind to feet.

Photo5026

The stiles on the coastal path fascinate me.

 Photo5023

Midges and flies were out in force and I was breakfast. It is no fun being bitten.

This stile appeared mystical to me.

Photo5028

Climbed over into a beautiful woodland above St Donat’s Castle. St Donat’s was built in the 12th Century. The Castle has had many owners Today it is the home to UWC Atlantic Collage.

I stayed awhile in this magical woodland to hear the sea and get away from the midges. Lucky I had a spare white cotton shirt that I put over my head and shoulders. Yes midgies bite at my skull. As I write my skull is coverd in bites waiting for me to scatch. That is why during the summer I always walk early mornings or late evenings.

Photo5027

Such beauty shaped by nature and history.

Photo5025

I had to leave the walk a mile short, the midges were too much and I forgot my cream.

PS There is a very good 13th century pub called “The Plough and Harrow” It was used by Monks for storage but also as a mortuary for the bodies of sailors who were lured to the hazardous coast by infamous Wreckers of Wick. They do say the pub is haunted.

One thought on “Monknash Vale of Glamorgan

Leave a Reply

