John Tripp and busy with poetry.

I live in the town where the author and poet John Tripp was born Bargoed. Bargoed was built for coal. I live at the top of Bargoed over looking East side of the Rhymney Valley.  I can see Twm Barlwm, Mynydd Machan, Mynydd Islwyn and witness the sun rise.  Behind me is Gelligaer Common, my open space beauty i can see Mynydd Senghenydd, Pen Y Fan, Merthyr Vale, south of the Rhymney Valley and witness a sun set, am I blessed yes I am.

Photo1115

I run and host two poetry event. Rhyme and Real Ale RARA for short in Roath, Cardiff. We meet on the 2nd Monday of each month. RARA’S  been going for a  year and half, in August  we celebrated being a year old with our first anthology.

10706378_292752800926702_1367241419_n

RARA  is a big, busy event with lots of talented readers. recently I decided to share the host with Will Ford and Nick Lovell both are  passionate like i am about poetry. Nick’s produced another anthology for RARA. Our 2nd anthology will be launched on Monday 9th February, Will Ford will be hosting. My second poetry event is in Bargoed called Poetry from the Fireside, at The Fireside Coffee Lounge, Bargoed. It is a smaller than  RARA but i like that, we meet on the first Friday of each month.

10615399_301451173388382_8820795794816974866_n Friday 6th March I have organised  (invitation only) a big event in memory of John Tripp, John Tripp often quoted”I was born in Bargoed and i want to know why?” So I have called the event.  “I was born in Bargoed and i want to know why?” John Tripp was born in Upper Capel Street, on 22nd of July 1927. I have had a plaque made in memory of John Tripp this will be placed on the house where John was born. I have taken a verse from “The Diesel to yesterday”

Photo2676

and added it to the plaque. It has been hard work organising this wonderful event but it is has been worth it. I first found out about John Tripp being born in Bargoed was from Chris O’Neill he told me “did you not know that John Tripp was born in Bargoed” From this conversation I approached author and poet Peter Finch he gave me a contact for Fay Cornes. From this I found the house where John was born, the times I have walked past his house and never knew. I have contacted many poets who knew John and his girlfriend Jean Henderson. Also contacted past winners of “The John Tripp Spoken Word Award” All have accepted bar two. Welsh singer and political activist Jamie Bevan will be performing along with Ray Davies and The Red Choir. MP for Caerphilly Borough Wayne David and AM Jeff Cuthbert will be present. I have asked for funding from CCBC, Bargoed Town Council, GAVO, Communities First, Lit Wales all have refused me. I can not match fund CADW regarding a plaque. So I took matters into my own hands and designed the plaque and what was written, it is in English and Welsh (Jamie Bevan helped in the translation ) A thank you to Jamie. The plaque was made local in Ystrad Mynach. I feel such a good vibe on my journey regarding John Tripp I am determined it will work. Mayor of Bargoed Town Council Councillor Howard Llewellyn has give me a grant from his own personnel funds for The John Tripp event. I know now i get a CADW plaque for John Tripp. I am so happy all my hard work and not accepting no for an answer has paid off.

I have busy month ahead of me,

unnamed murrengher

I am creator and host Rhyme and Real Ale we launched our 2nd anthology on Monday 9th February. Nick Lovell produced our 2nd anthology and used my two photos that i took.

Mike Jenkins Red Poets which i am one are performing in Blackwood.

 red-poets-stute-poster (1)

Also i will be performing at the Imp along side the very talented Owen Sheers, “gulp” still it will be a good experience.

Photo2612

Had three poem accepted by “I am not a silent poet”

Compassion does not have Colour

Gaza

Predator

Poems by Julie Pritchard

@mabjones

Made me guest poet in Buzz magazine she also mentioned the writing group that I Coordinate “Write on Writes” WOW for short we meet on the first and third Monday of each month  (Morganstown Village Hall, Heol Syr Lewis, Morganstown . All the event that I run are on Lit Wales and FB

My poem Barren was published in Buzz magazine a thank you to Mab.

Barren

poem by Julie Pritchard

Had a wonderful evening  (10 minute slot ) performing and reading my own work at “Scratch the Platform 3” Cardiff it was great to read to a different audience. The Murrengher, Newport, Alan Rodderick is a wonderful man I really enjoy performing there, good poets and great audience too.

I have now sold over 80 copies of my book of poems “Butterfly Kisses and a Bee Sting Mind” (amazing title came to me in a dream)

Photo0310

In the process of a second book of poems which will include my photos too. Hoping to finish my two books both are Memoirs. I have come a long way to be where I am and this makes me humble.

2 thoughts on “John Tripp and busy with poetry.

Leave a Reply

